Reptile Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

Just wondering whether i could move to sand yet. My beardie is around 4-5 months old now and i really dislike the rubbish look of the newspaper. He/she is around 13-15 inches.

Thanks

Hugh:mf_dribble:

·
Registered
513 Posts
you can take the risk really you should wait for around 6 - 8 months because they can eat the sound and get stomach issues. Also its a mess when you get them out, when you pick him up he'll have loads of sand stuck to him which will make a mess. But it's upto you.

Josh

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
so should i still you sand when he reaches 6-8 months? what substrate d'ya recommend?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,547 Posts
kitchen roll, lino, tiles but pref not sand mine had a bit of sand (i was a newbie) when i 1st got her at 8 months, and she thought it was food, luckily i stayed home that day otherwise she may not be here now, it might look pretty but imagine how pretty the viv would look with no beardie in it, play safe mate, stick to the above, hope that helps x

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
yeah. But isn't sand in their natural climate. they live in australia, and plus the bearded dragon manual says 'in 40 years of keeping bearded dragons they haven't had an incident of impaction.

Anyways i will wait a couple of months and see how he is.

Thanks

·
Super Moderator
9,455 Posts
I have used sand for my uro's and beardies without problems. I usually feed from a bowl though to lessen sand ingestion. But I would not advise sand until at least 6 months old so I would wait another month or so yet. Use children's play sand as that is nice and fine. Do not use calci-sand as it is not as digestible as they say it is.

·
Registered
5,551 Posts