Reptile Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I now have 2 vivs waiting for new occupants, the smaller of the two is approximately 30"x12"x18" (length, depth, height) and the larger one is approximatly 48"x18"x18".

I am new to keeping lizards.

My requirements:
- active during the day
- want to keep more than one in each viv, so small lizards

So far I am leaning towards phelsuma spp, particularly the Gold Dust Gecko for the smaller viv, which I think would be large enough for a pair?
An alternative is to use it for my baby goliath tarantula when he(/she) grows up.

For the large viv, I am thinking it would be nice to keep a group of small species. Ideally mixed species.
So far I have come to thinking of Anoles & frogs in the big viv, are there any compatible spp of Anoles/frogs? ie. not going to try and eat each other!
Maybe 2 or 3 Anoles and a couple of frogs.

Any thoughts and feedback on my ideas here appreciated!
Species selected suitable for a lizard novice?
Am I being too ambitious with plans for big viv?

Thanks.

·
Registered
126 Posts
cant reccomend any species for your tanks, but i will say one thing, don't bother mixing species, there is a number of reasons behind this. temperature/humidity requirements will be different for most things. parasites/illnesses - some species are prone to parasites/diseases that other species will happly carry with no ill effect. they will probably not get on resulting in fighting/bullying, it's just generally not a good idea and i am sure other people will agree with me.

·
Registered
4,123 Posts
i agree with xraverxbabyx,
mixing species doesn't really work..have seen some lovely set ups where several species co-habit but i have seen more disasters that usually end up in sick or dead animals..ain't worth it...

there are several species that you could put in the larger tank...skinks, agamas...