Reptile Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My Mountain Kingsnake appears to be constipated. It has a bit of a bulge around its middle and there appears to be no faeces in its viv in spite of the fact that its appetite is as good as it ever was. I read that castor oil was the cure but apparently this is no longer available, the closest equivalent being liquid paraffin. Any advice/suggestions would be appreciated.

·
Registered
173 Posts
I am no expert, quiet a newbie in fact, having read other posts it seems a warm bath is a good idea, however i would wait for more educated members if the forum to confirm this.

Slapshot

·
Registered
6,229 Posts
Liquid parafin is often useful in constipation in mammals but i have never heard of it being used in snakes. I agree with the previous post - try bathing the snake in warm water a few times. If this doesnt help a vets visit may be neccessary as he may be impacted.

·
Registered
1,090 Posts
I'd give him a bath (luke warm water - just deep enough to cover his body) every 3 days for about 30 mins at a time - if he hasn't passed any hard stools (have a feel of them!) after about 4 baths, or if the bulge gets larger or if his behaviour changes, get him to the vet.

What has he been eating? Might be an idea to move down a size - smaller rodents will be easier to digest and less stress on his system.

·
Registered
4,905 Posts
great advice mark :D

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·