Reptile Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got my crested gecko about 2 years ago. She started out fine in a 12x12x18 tank (non-bioactive) but as time went on so she out grew it. At about a year and a half ago, i got her a much larger tank and made it bioactive. This is when things started to go down hill. The vivarium plants didnt do too well and she started growing slower. I feed her repashy which she seemed to love but started to eat less and less. I did feed her crickets ,which she loved, but it was only once or twice a week. Cricket supply started going down so i couldnt get as many as before, and now at this point, we only ever get them twice a month. She doesnt seem unhealthy and she is still very active but she isnt growing very fast. Also if anyone has any tips to help my plants grow better, help would be appreciated. Here is some pictures (sorry for the bad quality)

Attachments

·
Registered
9,279 Posts
I have no experience with Cresites so i'll leave that part of the advice to more knowledgeable members of this forum :)

In regards to the plants...

What substrate mix are you using and what light do the plants have? Also, how long did you leave it to establish before putting the gecko in? It is recommended to allow etleest a minimum of 1 month prior to putting an animal in a bioactive enclosure but the longer the better for plant and cuc establishment (leave the enclosure for etleest 3 months now).

Reactions: curious ghost

·
Registered
432 Posts
I agree need more info.

I can't see much the pics as to what plants you are using? Def need to know more about the substrate, have you got a drainage layer?

What clean up crew are you using?

·
Registered
3,041 Posts
Immediate reactions looking at the viv would suggest, to me, that your gecko is likely stressed due to a lack of cover, in the form of plant cover, hides etc. Adjusting that, alongside other advice regarding diet may go a long way to helping.