Reptile Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my russian rat snake is looking a bit deflated. when he relaxes over an edge (rock/branch etc) he has a bit of a flat tyre look. he looks normal when moving or coiled up and still has plenty of strength when in hand. doesnt show any spine. he is eating once a week and i have recently started feeding him two mice in a sitting which he is taking with gusto. i have seen him drinking and he gets fresh water every other day. he had his brumation and didnt have any problems with it and been eating happily since coming out of it. environmental stuff is all good, lots of ventilation, 30c hot spot, room temp cool end, large viv, got dry/cool/humid hides and uvb. he is about 18 months (i think) 745g and is putting weight on, 116g since he woke up.
do i need to up his food or is it just a normal thing?

·
Registered
12,993 Posts
I have no experience with brumating so I’ve nothing really to offer ... just wondering if it’s just a little dehydrated in which case it maybe worth giving it a 20 minute soak ...

Message me if you want info on soaking ...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
i thought about dehydration but his skin is still nice and springy and he has definitely been drinking. he hasnt been trying to climb in his water. i spray his humid hide regularly so he always has somewhere damp to go, he does use it occasionally. he doesnt really use hides much in general, never has, he prefers to sprawl out on his rocks or in his branches.