Reptile Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HEY ALL

Im new to keeping lizards and im getting two colard lizards on friday and im looking to build a great habitat for them, i have been serching for ages and have found very little on a desert theme so im looking for inspiration on it and im also looking to include a water feature aswell i know this sounds stupid but there is water in the desert aswell lol anyway this is the details of the vi

4ftL x 2ftW x 3ftH

what i want is some rocks sand water and live plants and soon any ideas will be great and any pics of the same theme would be brill

·
Registered
9,608 Posts
If you have a water feature you're really going to struggle to keep the humidity down... If the humidity is too high in the cage, desert-dwelling species are prone to suffering from respiratory problems...

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If you have a water feature you're really going to struggle to keep the humidity down... If the humidity is too high in the cage, desert-dwelling species are prone to suffering from respiratory problems...

ok cool so ya wouldnt recomend a water feature then do ya have any ideas wat way to set it up so i can get the best out of it and so it looks gd ? or know of anywere i can take a look at some setups of the same theme

·
Registered
9,608 Posts
I'd recommend keeping a small water bowl in there but leaving it at that...

I've got a few photos in my gallery of how I keep my desert vivs; if you search on here for a member called Johelian, she has photos of a fantastic desert setup that she (used to???) have...

Other than that, have a look through google for photos of actual deserts to get an idea of the colours and shapes of rock that you want, along with amount and types of branches etc, and go from there. There are probably some photos in the "habitat" section of the photo gallery on here as well.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·