Reptile Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
502 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,

I bought an Exo Terra heat rock today and mistakenly thought it had a thermostat with it. It dosn't so I have no way of controlling what temperature it is at.

In the manual it says it shuts itself off at 50C but i'm thinking thats too hot for my baby leopard Geckos.

As said it is for BABY leapard geckos and i'm new to this so i'm a bit worried.

Is it safe to have it left in there just switched on or do I need a thermostat as well?

Thanks!

Fi,

X

·
Registered
1,162 Posts
you need a thermostat with it
i personally would not use them at all because they badly burn lizards alot of the time
aslong as u have a stat with it it shud be ok for a leo tho as they detect heat from below
dont use it without a stat tho.

·
Premium Member
23,539 Posts
I'd suggest that you definately need a thermostat without a doubt! Look at it this way, not worth the risk of burning your lizard or causing it harm in any way.
There have been known incidents where peoples pets have had quite a bit of serious burns.

·
Registered
502 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you! I think I might take it back to be honest, they sound a bit dodgy... I don't want to hurt my baby leo's and I don't have the money to afford another thermostat at the moment. Bummer.

Thanks anyway!

x

·
Premium Member
23,539 Posts
Thank you! I think I might take it back to be honest, they sound a bit dodgy... I don't want to hurt my baby leo's and I don't have the money to afford another thermostat at the moment. Bummer.

Thanks anyway!

x

I'd prefer to use heat mat and thermostat.

·
Registered
955 Posts
Hey,
Like the others have explained hot rocks aren't a very good heat source as they can seriously burn a rep that snuggles up on it for too long.

I would defiantly say do not use it without a thermostat as you will end up with some very crunchy leo babies.