Reptile Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After i had completed phase one of my project

http://www.reptileforums.co.uk/forums/habitat/592398-new-stack-build.html

I thought i better get my rear into gear and make a start at a fakie background...... Please don't be harsh this is my first attempt.

I have used 2 space boards from B&Q (1200 x 500 x 50.4mm)@ £4.95 each. I stared off by marking all of the shapes of the stones i wanted onto the board and set to hacking all of the bit off i didn't want with a drill and suitable wire brush attachment.

Here is the result of all that hacking.

After that i added some basking ledges for the beardies. To get these to stay in place i put recesses the background and used kebab skewers to steady, and dabbed some adhesive to ensure fixing.

Then it was on with the first layer of watered down grout

More updates soon, what do you think for a start ?

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think it looks good so far, and I love the way you have calved out the stone effect cant wait to see the progress.
Thank you, it took about an hour to carve out the foam, and another hour to clean up after it.... nobody ever said about the mess it makes

·
Registered
2,622 Posts
Looks awesome so far

Thank you, it took about an hour to carve out the foam, and another hour to clean up after it.... nobody ever said about the mess it makes
use poly and get a solder gun the carve the poly, it take minutes and no mess

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Looks awesome so far

use poly and get a solder gun the carve the poly, it take minutes and no mess
Didnt think of that.... its only after i seen your JP background i though why not... lets give it a go.

The first coat of grout hopefully will be dry by tomorrow. i will post more pics then

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
2nd Layer of grout

Well, the mess began again and the second layer of grout is finally on.