Reptile Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys and Girls,

I'm new to posting on these forums but have been a long time reader!
I have managed to acquire a tank which was used for an aquarium before i got hold of it!

So my first question is will this be suitable to house a royal? the size is 36inc(L)x15(W)x18(H), and i have covered the all but the front of the tank to make it more VIV looking!

My Second question is are they good pets to own? and care for (keep happy)?

Last but not least what kind of setup do i need? i have read various care sheets and just need clarification on how to properly maintain the correct temps in the tank?

Thanks in advance for your help!

oh one more thing (being cheeky now i know!) but does anyone know of a reliable place to get one from in and around warrington? really after a CB07, want to get it young so i can see him/her grow up!:2thumb:

·
Registered
933 Posts
I'm no expert on royals but that tank is too big for a young one. Plus glass isn't really the best material anyway for a viv (generally that is). Good that you have covered up the sides though that always helps for the snakes feelings of security and to keep more heat in.
They are good snakes and very easy to care for, BUT please make sure you get a CB one that is feeding. Also note that lots of people will sell you a CB that is actually WC or CF. Not all will do this but enough will do (inc big companies).
They do have a habit of going off food just like that and then not feeding for ages, or ever.