Reptile Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys

I have been researching bearded dragons now for a solid 6 months and have a good idea about them. I have recently put down a deposit for 2 female sister bearded dragons which I will collect on the 27th June 2021 can't wait. I live lizards there amazing animals.

just wanted to introduce myself

I'm Will 33 from Norfolk. I have wanted a reptile of my own for so long I remember when I was living at home I suggested this to my mum and she wasn't having any off this and now the time has come where I have bought 2 female bearded dragons so I'm super excited.

many thanks guys just wanted to introduce myself 馃榾

Super Moderator
Have a read of the Stickies at the top of this section (Lizards).

If you are housing them together they may well not get on and will need separating.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
They have lived together all there lives and there a friends never attacked each other. Yes lizards that's what bearded dragons are ain't it???

Registered
If you have done 6 months of research you will no doubt have come across the fact that Bearded Dragons are solitary animals they should not be kept together. Just because they have 'got on fine' so far, doesn't mean they always will. It also doesn't mean that the previous owner is just missing all the subtle signs of domination and stress that will be occuring in the enclosure.

If you are insistent on keeping them together, the enclosure needs to be more than twice the size of a minimum recommendation, I'd say 3x (so at least 8x2x2ft going by the old school enclosures recommendations, but closer to 10x3x3ft by the newer standars, and 15x3x3ft to be sure they will be fine), with multiple basking spots so they never have to share, and plenty of cover to break lines of sight.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #6 ·