Reptile Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for sub-adult/adult mexican black king and western hognose in time for xmas, but it's looking more likely I'll have to go for hatchlings.

I was thinking two faunariums, kept inside the viv on a ('statted) heatmat, but am a little unsure how to best gauge the temps inside the faunariums, any tips?

I'll put the stat probe directly on the heatmat (on top of the false bottom), and have both boxes positioned about the same.

Also, what size faunarium box? I was thinking the large flat type, paper towel as substrate and half a coconut each end for hides?

And lastly, what size should hatchlings bee before moving them into a 2x18x18?

Thanks (and apologies in advance if the topic has been done to death before, I'm a newbie)

·
Registered
6,229 Posts
For hoggies the large flat fauns are pretty massive for hatchlings, hatchling hogs are TINY! I would go for the smaller flat ones, or even a cadbury tub to start with.

Personally I dont put faunariums inside vivs, its hard to get a proper gradient in them. I would just put a small heatmat under one end of the tub. The setup sounds fine other than that (obviously with the addition of a small waterbowl!)

Your hog will be almost fully grown by the time it will have to be upgraded to a 2ft viv most likely. Males only hit 2ft most of the time with even large females rarely getting past 3ft. Its hard to say exactly when they will need to be upgraded, but it will be in excess of 18 months so you dont need to think about any of that yet!

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks pendle (well, it'd be rude to call you 'hogg' lol).

I was thinking of putting them inside a viv for extra security, but I have a spare mat I could put inside the viv and rest the boxes on that?