Reptile Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

I am new to the inverts hobby and have just purchased a forest scorpion (heterometrus cyaneus)

I have brought everything I thought I'd need as I researched this scorpion.

I have attached a picture of the enclosure, I just want to make sure I have got it right and I know there are many experienced people here who could advise me, tell me if I am doing anything wrong, what I can do better etc

The scorpian is currently in the closure having brought him/her today.

I have a 7W heat mat attached to the side it is 15cm by 28cm.

I have a dial thermometer currently other side of the heat mat, reading, 22-23 degrees, is this OK? I live in a one bedroom flat so it's never cold in the flat I have the flat temp set at 22 and if it goes under it automatically goes back up to that temp, I set it like this before I got the scorpion, is that OK?
I have spider Habistat bedding.
Also at the cold side I have put sphagnum moss, to give it a wet choice, is this OK or wrong? The scorpion is currently dug into it and is in it.

I have large locusts in a box, the scorpion is a sub adult i think, not small and not big, how many locusts should they be eating a week?

Do I need anything else and am I doing anything wrong?

Shall I keep the heat matt on 24 hours and should I get a thermostat?

Thank you to any one who replys just worried I am doing it wrong.

Attachments

·
Registered
10,624 Posts
Lots wrong here.
First off the enclosure itself. Its an arboreal tank, completely unsuitable for a scorpion.
The substrate could do with more depth. It doesn't need branches and vines.
Heating - a little on the cool side. Those cheap dial thermometers are useless as they are wildly inaccurate.
Personally I would change the enclosure to a terrestrial one, provide a deeper substrate, a d give more cover. Get a digital thermometer.
Also, where are you measuring the temperature?

·
Registered
28 Posts