Reptile Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

It's my first time posting on this forum, so I apologise if there's anything wrong with this post.

I'm getting progressively worried with my pet California King Snake, 10 years of age, 5ft 5inch. He has a long standing issue of eating himself (roughly two years), with no known cause.

My question is, are there any other reasons for a snake eating themselves aside from thinking they are attacking a potential threat? Vet's have said his home environment is completely fine and that the temp, humidity, viv size and decor is spot on. With many visits to the vets, blood tests, thyroid tests, hormone tests and medication, no exotic vet has been able to figure out why he does this. He does lose weight faster than normal, but vets have ruled out parasites. The only way I've managed to stop him doing this to himself is by feeding him every 5 days, instead of every 2 weeks. Even by feeding him every 5 days, he doesn't gain weight and continues to pass bowel movement without trouble. I'm hoping someone in the reptile community has some ideas as it's not fair on him to go through whatever this is. Before feeding him every 5 days, he would begin eating himself without fail twice a week. Sometimes I would return from work with most of him inside him, and it's resulted in lots of injections and additional medication.

The only thing vets have suggested is something progressive, such as cancer or a tumour. A blockage could be a cause, but with him continuing to lose weight and pass poo, they think it's extremely unlikely.

Has anyone here had this before or know of what could be the cause?

I have a photo of him below, he's such a gentle snake, and even whilst going through this, he's always remained active, calm, and has never struck me.

·
Registered
510 Posts
I've not had this issue with our California king snakes so I can't help but I certainly hope your kind Snake is okay!