Reptile Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
956 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am really new to this section & dont really have good experiance of turtles & tortoises, but i long to have a tortoise badly. i did have a little horsfields tortoise years ago but it died in hibertation, i was shattered completely. i loved her very much & was totally upset when we brought her out of hibernation & she was dead.

we did everything right we weighed her every week to see if she was ok to hibernate, we fed her correctly, we evan got in touch with the tortoise trust just to make sure we had done evrything by the book! can not tell you how much loved her & she died!!

anyway getting back to my question is it necessary to hibernate them? i would never get a hosfields again because it would remind me too much of shelly! (yes shelly)

any info would be more than grateful, cheers mark mrblue2008

·
Premium Member
7,810 Posts
There is a huge debate about this,is it something they have to do in the wild to survive? or is it ok to keep them awake if we can create the correct conditions?

Anyway

There are species that dont hibernate

Red foots- tropical but do get large
Leopards -huge but stunning
Tunisians - stress very easy and get RNS at the drop of a hat
Indian stars- need high temps and can stress and get RNS easy but not as bad as tunisians
Sulcatas - huge like leopards
Pancakes- easy to keep but hard to find
Egyptians- like rocking horse poo to find

Think thats all of them that are in the UK of the top of my head and ive kept them all

Best by far for beginners are red foots
Easy diet - they can eat fruit
Humidity -easy just spray the substrate
Stunning tortoises they are black and red

·
Registered
956 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Totally agree- I will sell somebody elses soul to get another redfoot:whistling2:

They do get big, though.
ooooh ron you no about torts, thats good you can tell me all u no, he he!