Reptile Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
first i would like to say hi. i joined the forum as i am slightly worried about my horsefiled tortoise. i got her about 4 weeks ago and told she was about 8 years old.
the reason i am abit worried is that she looks like she keeps trying to burrow down. i have hemp as bedding at the moment is this sufficent? i have also read on here about uv lamps i have a ceramic heat lamp at the moment is this enough? is it possible that she is trying to hibenate as she doesnt seem to be eating much at the moment either.
thanks in advance. sorry if these are rather simple questions i am new to this.:blush:

·
Registered
11,327 Posts
She could be trying to hibernate. Especially if she is 8 years old, she may have hibernated before, in which case you'll have one hell of a fight on your hands to keep her up!

A ceramic heat lamp isn;t the best, you're better with a normal household reflector spotbulb, as they give out extra light as well as heat. The extra light is key for avoiding hibernation! You do need a UVB light, this is essential. a 10% is best, but you could go for a combined bulb, which gives heat and UVB. These are more expensive but last much longer so cheaper in the long run.

Hemp is fine, but you could try having an area of soil as well, Horsfields like it as deep as possible, as burrowing and tunneling is normal behaviour for them, so don't worry if you don;t see much of her at times, it means she's happy, since she can dig!

:welcome: by the way!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the advice. I am looking into getting a combined bulb. Was wondering if you could recomend any and if you know what wattage would be sufficent? UV - Heat - Mercury Vapour Lampalso if i get a combined bulb would i need a thermostat?
Thanks again!

·
Registered
468 Posts