Reptile Forums banner

Is your local rep shop reptile friendly?

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,782 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey.

At my local rep shop theres a tortoise and adult beardie housed together, should this be done?
Also theres a fair sized monitor in a glass tank not much bigger then him, he was up at the glass looking at me all sorrifulL :( are all rep shops like this?

·
Registered
140 Posts
Thats a good point... at my local they have housed a frilled dragon, water dragon and an australian water dragon... now I'm no expert but shouldn't both the water dragons be kept in different temperatured environments?

·
Registered
597 Posts
housing different species and the same species for me is a no, for one if you house different species they will need different enviroments, they may fight, one may get larger than the other and see it as a food source, not to mention its stressful on them.

·
Registered
1,243 Posts
No decent reptile shop does this! I would accept that shops may need to house more than one animal per viv as space is at a premium,but mixing species like that is totally wrong!

·
She Ra, Mastress of the Universe
1,045 Posts
my nearest rep shop is good on the housing side, but extortionate on the money side. but thats expected really.

though the tanks for the reps do seem a bit small, but again thats understandable, as usually its not a permanent home.

they also had reps boarding, so id say they're pretty competent in their knowledge.

so i thik overall id say its a good, but expensive, place.

:D

·
Registered
13,813 Posts
RFM said:
Thats a good point... at my local they have housed a frilled dragon, water dragon and an australian water dragon... now I'm no expert but shouldn't both the water dragons be kept in different temperatured environments?
the frilled dragons differing humidty requirements prolyl the more dangerous issue there.