Reptile Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello and thanks for takin time to read this, i am new to the lizard scene and would love to do the best possible for my future pet so would love some advice, i am debating on either a leopard gecko or either a green iguana or the bearded dragon, i dont know which would be great to buy and have as a new family member, i dont have a problem with time and have enough funds but this is all new so wouldnt want a "lizard" which i am going to cause harm to for a silly mistake so any advice would be great thanks mat

·
Banned
5,772 Posts
Iggys get massive, u'd never a very huge enclosure for it and they can be quite nasty if u dont manage to tame it. if u have the time and devotion then they can be good pets, people have had them as first lizards with no problem but the gecko and bearded dragon are much simpler

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well i have time because i wont be back at work for another year, but i wouldnt want one which is going to attack for no apparent reason, so..... i have enough room and can get my hands on a 48" x 24" x 24" vivarium with uv lights and heat mat and so on, id just like to know what is the extent of a schedule and the best possible way to care for it

·
Banned
5,772 Posts
mmm then i wouldnt go for an iggy just in case as they are known to have a nasty temperment at times.

i'd get a beardie if thats what set up your going to get. they grow just over 20inch, very friendly, easy to care for.

·
Registered
21,190 Posts
A viv of that size will not last an iggy very long as they can get to 6 feet long, it would be perfect for 1-2 bearded dragons, only get either two females or a male and a female, two males will fight, make sure that they both have a basking spot aswell, its a bit too big for leos, so i would go with the BD with that viv, if you want an iggy there is an excellent care sheet at www.anapsid.org

·
Registered
98 Posts