Reptile Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
4,535 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi i was wondering what mammal i should go for, ive done the whole hamster,rats,ferrets,rabbits,guineapigs etc btu i want something different and unusual. Im not after hedgehogs lol but something like a virginia opposum. i can only spend upto £350 but would rather somehting a bit more affordable lol. So what do you think i should get?

Thanks

Ismail

·
Pets are a luxury!!!
28,359 Posts
Richardson Ground squirrels. I met one the other day, he was so squidgy and adorable so next year I need to get a couple. I believe they sell for about £150 each and there are some on sale in classifieds at the minute

·
Registered
2,492 Posts
I don't know if you can "tame" them but I love them too the only ones I ever met weren't tame but that's not to say you can't......they are exceedingly cute bless them.

What about Zebra Mice? I'm new to them (was also after something a bit different) and was told they wouldn't be tame but they're lovely, okay they don't like to be cuddled but they're more than happy to have a stroke and a fuss in fact they come out especially : victory:

·
Registered
25,485 Posts
What about short tailed opossums (since you were after a more affordable critter from a Vriginia opossum)? I have two of my own, plus another here for a naughty holiday, and they're great!

·
Pets are a luxury!!!
28,359 Posts
Yes you can tame them. Cat/ Ditta have a couple and the male is sooooo tame. I fell totally in love with him and couldnt stop kissing and cuddling him. If you google them it says they are very tameable and bond closely with their owners

·
Registered
77 Posts
Gambian Pouched Rat/S?

i dont know much about them, but my godmother recently got one and hes fantastic, very friendly :)

·
Registered
25,485 Posts
STOs are about £100 each... And I HOPEFULLY have some on the way *fingers crossed* All went well ;)

·
Registered
4,125 Posts