Reptile Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am completely new to the hobby and am planning to start with a leopard gecko

iv got setup in mind but i would like to hear some opinions first. I'm going to hav a viv about 24" by 12" possibly bigger, im gonna use a heat strip (and thermostat) at one end, use a themometer for both ends, have hides, (moist, warm, cool ect), use playsand as a substrate (Iv heard that if the gecko is over 5/6" long its safe), possibly have a red light, have a water dish and feed mostly meal worms and sometimes crickets (obviously dusted), specific amounts of how much to feed would be very helpfull. :D

any advice would be very much appreciated. thnx

·
Registered
21,871 Posts
im fairly new to this but your set up sounds good,id maybe rethink the playsand or sand of any type,only as its better to be safe than sorry,check out leo on loose substrate thread,not nice,my viv is pretty much as uv planned only ive got a 11x11 heat mat rather than strip,but sounds like youve got it pretty much spot on so good luck with ur new leo,they are good fun :D

·
Registered
188 Posts
gecko.s are good first time reptiles

i have a gecko and think they make great pets.

·
Registered
2,671 Posts
ive got 2 geckos an i wuddnt be without them

·
Registered
1,486 Posts
Setup sounds excellent.... nice to see someone mention a stat!!!

24x12 will be ok for one gecko, but 18" deep would be better.

I would recommend you have the setup ready for a week or so before yiu get your leo, and get temps etc right. The dials in stats are not very accurate. mine was set at 31, but when i bought a digi thermometer, the temp at the probe in the substrate was 51!!!

And as above, crickets are nutritionally better than mealworms.

·
Registered
3,876 Posts