Reptile Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I'm new to Bearded dragon Keeping but Ive been looking at custom viv decorations and thught I'd give it a go.

I know it need grouting, painting and sealing before it can go in the viv but just wanted to see if it was OK for my bearded dragon.
My idea is to grout it, not sure how many coats I need to put on, and then use play sand to make it look more deserty, and then grill/toast some sand so its darker to add detail and then seal it with a matt varnish.
I've got enough polystyrene to make a few hides for him too.

one more thing, I've got the exoterra feeding/wayer bowls. Could I use aquarium silicon to coat them in sand (outside only) and varnish them so they match the rest of the viv?

Thanks

·
Registered
524 Posts
I personally don't like that type of layout. Looks like that awful Bearded Dragon specific viv you can get with the shelf's on either side.
It give's the viv a hot top and cool bottom, where as hot one side and cool the other just works better.
Also UV has limited access on the bottom layer.

This of course Is my opinion only. It does look ace tho dude, very well made. Good job.

·
Registered
1,016 Posts
The extra high platform wont be of any real use.

looks smart other than that.

Reactions: mrsimpson85

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I personally don't like that type of layout. Looks like that awful Bearded Dragon specific viv you can get with the shelf's on either side.
It give's the viv a hot top and cool bottom, where as hot one side and cool the other just works better.

This of course Is my opinion only. It does look ace tho dude, very well made. Good job.
Thanks for the reply, I did buy one of them "awful Bearded Dragon specific viv you can get with the shelf's on either side"