Reptile Forums banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
1,287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi again

i would like to start off by wishing you all a happy new year :2thumb:

ok i thought i would start a new thread for my simple questions.

I dont know if im daft or looking in the wrong places for my info but i have some basic questions again.

I have been out (with the dog) this weekend looking for some leaves form my little dart frog, and i am having some issues find suitable leaves, i have read oak and magnolia leaves are used (oak seems to get the peoples vote) but i cant seem to find an oak tree

i am not very good with tree identification and had no experience in trees or plants so this maybe a long post :)

i was thinking are they any leaves i can use? for example i have a lot of sycamore leaves around were i am (who ever planted trees in mk must love these)

i have found a few tree like bushes that have leaves that look like magnolia but im not 100% sure so will add a pic below for some help but all these leaves still seem to be green and im guessing i would really want them a more brown colour and on the floor instead of on the tree/bush, to get them brown could i put them in the oven for a bit or will this take stuff out of the leaves i will need?

my other question is it best to have the leaves dry (stu mentioned when i hijacked morgans thread) this time of year its impossible!! or will a min in the microwave suffice?

i am the type of person who over thinks everything and even if i had an oak tree i would be very suspicious thats its not an oak tree because its in my garden and thats far to easy..... so i apologise if im over thinking this simple process of collecting leaves and i thank anyone out there who helps me

thanks again all (sorry if i have bored anyone)

dane

·
Registered
17,604 Posts