Reptile Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
25,691 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Am a complete newbie to leopard gecko genetics, kept a small colony of normals some years ago, before switching to corn snakes.

I have however been given a young-adult collection that will be coming into maturity in the spring. I have no idea what I should be mixing to get colours and there are so many different morphs and terms that I'm a bit lost and confused (it's not hard to do to me).

Anyway, I have these geckos labelled as described to me...

Male: SHTCT (Described to me as an "Urban" gecko, whatever that means).

Females:
1. Hypo het tremper albino, het blizzard
2. Lavender
3. Blazing Banana
4. Albino

Now in the case of Female 1. does this simply make it het blazing blizzard?
In the case of female 2. is lavender even a genetic desireable morph or is this just what the guy was calling it and is it meant to be some sort of normal or is lavender actually a morph? In the case of number 3 i've never even heard of a "blazing banana" and again, is this an accurate name and is it genetic?

Now say I breed each of these females to the rather stunning SHTCT - will I actually get anything interesting? Or are they all going to be normals with various hets? And furthermore... can one male even service 4 ladies? Or should I be investing in a second male and splitting them into 2 groups - in which case, what would be the best morph to get that would bring out the best traits in these ladies.

If anyone has any advice links or perhaps a nice little program like the Cornprog that calculates offspring... I would appreciate it

Thanks for any advice, I think I prefer corn snake genetics overall.

·
Registered
7,244 Posts
SHTCT might be (S)uper (H)ypo (T)angerine (C)arrot (T)ail.
You are a lucky duck getting a colony like that.
The male might be able to 'see to' all four girls.
The genetics I have no clue about.

·
Registered
1,486 Posts