Reptile Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys

I'm new to live feeding and wondered if anyone has tips for getting the live food from the container you buy it in to your Lizard easily and without fuss or excapees.

Do you tranfer them to another container when they arrive? if so how?

Do you heat them?

How do you successfully dust them and get them to your Lizard wihtout losing them?

All hints. tips and suggestions welcome.

I am looking mainly at Locusts and Crickets here.

No info too basic - I am a real novice.

·
Registered
13,922 Posts
Locusts - Very slow and easy to catch.....so I just use my hands.

With Crix....they are a pain so I dont use them anymore. But when I did I used a Crix keeper which I found useful, but before I had one of those....

I put the box of crix into a clear bag, open the box by a corner so some crix fall into said bag. Close lid and hey presto crix in a bag! Add some suplements and shake well, covering the crix. Tip said dusted crix into viv.

Voilá! :)

·
Registered
1,711 Posts
Hi,

I guload my crix before I feed them to my CWd’s and this is what I do.

I bought 3 boxes from the reptile shop. Got three shoe size plastic tubs with lids and put a series of air holes in the top.

In each box they have egg cartons to hide under. Moist tissue for water (changed daily) and some dusted veggies (usually outer cabbage leaves or kale) I don’t put bran/weetabix in at this point because I use whats already in the tub from the rep shop. I put one box of crix per plastic tub by lifting up half the top and literally tip them into the plastic tub including egg cartons and bran/weetabix that’s in the bottom. They then live in my dining room where I change the water every day and change any smelly veg etc. depending on how many my CWD’s eat it may be necessary to clean out the tub.