Reptile Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
what is the maximum breeding age for the more common snake species in the hobby? i've been keeping snakes for the past six years only so i have six year olds in my possession and wonder how long some of them can still be used as breeders. i am particularly curious about the following:
colombian BCI
KSB
royal
king
corn
blood
burms

·
Registered
1,775 Posts
i dont think there is a simple answer to this question,

ive seen recently a lot of people breeding corns that are CB14, i think thats wrong, ive been breeding colubrids for a long time and i wouldnt even think about breeding them before theyre at least 2.5-3 years old,

there is one person on here for sure that will tell you different,

again royals id go by the weight not necessarily the age, i know some males can be producing in the first year if theyre good feeders and have a nice weight on them, and a lot of people will say a female royal is good to go at 1.5k but id still rather wait until theyre atleast2k

dont know much about the others

·
Registered
767 Posts
I guess if you're asking about the maximum age ( oldest to breed ) - again, I don't think there's a definitive answer.

It all depends on the condition of the female, some snakes that have been heavily bred every year can be " burnt out " by much younger age than ones that haven't, any every snake and every species is different, too, so difficult to say.

Reactions: sauroid

·
Registered
2,726 Posts
Short answer: The age when the snake dies.

Six years old is just getting into the prime of life for most snakes.

I hatched out a bullsnake female and gave it to a friend. She dropped fertile eggs (that hatched) at the age of nineteen (19).