Reptile Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well here goes nothing (everything?).....

Hi, newbie here...

NOTE: THERE ARE SOME SUPPORTING IMAGES AT FOOT OF THIS POST!!

i've recently found this forum and at last have the potential of some impartial advise, without there being a sale behind the recommendations:)
having read several posts here i can't help thinking my poor snake may be suffering from poor housing conditions,
although the regular eating and shedding pattern would suggest otherwise?
i hope you can spare the time to read my ramblings,
and spare some of your valuable time to comment on some or all of my newbie questions.
many thanks in advance,
regards,
GaRy:)

THE BEASTIE, NO NAME:( either Sid or Nancy or maybe Fluffy 2, all very original eh?
HEY, how about FATTY?, i hope not!
he / she is a Nelsons' Milk?
male / female?
approx 16 months old, 920mm long and 25mm diameter at it's thickest,
although the head seems quite small in comparison at 16mm wide x 12 high, but im no expert.
i've no idea of the weight yet, but can find out if that's important or helps with any diagnosis.
all dimensions are approximate, has anyone tried measuring a snake, easy eh? :)

how much larger can i expect it to get and when would i consider the growing phase as complete?

FEEDING....

it's been shedding regularly about once a month.
the original feeding programme supplied by the seller was,

1 pink for 10 feeds, then 2 pinks for 10 feeds.
the repeat for fluffs,
then repeat for small mice.

may be a little generic, but was working.

he loved pinks and fluffs, but doesn't really like small mice, not sure why, could it be the texture, the size or the smell/taste, i've had several batches, they all smell the same.
so has been eating several fluffs in a sitting every 4-5 days.
i kept trying small mice from time to time, but almost all of them ended up in the bin.