Reptile Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
818 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
4 Weeks ago I was asked to take on an Iggy by a client at work as he was aggressive towards her and shecouldnt cope with him. To be honest I have always wanted one but after researching and reading much bad press I didnt want to buy one and encourage the dealers to breed more iggies that will probably end up in a rescue centre.
I know many people dont approve of iggies as pets but please dont slate me I have done research and do have the time, space and funds to support him and I only took him on as he was in need of a home.
Well getting back to the story, I decided to rehome him as I felt I could offer him a better chance than some people could. I think he had a bit of a rough life so far as he has been passed from person to person and has lost his tail in the past (which is now growing back). He is also a bit on the slender side in my opinion (although im not an iggy expert).
I have now had him for about four weeks. His viv wasn't an ideal setup so I changed substrate and furniture etc to give him more space to climb after about a week. I let him settle in before handling him, but as the days go on he seems to be getting more and more aggressive. I am not going to give up on him and would like advice from people who have kept or keep iggies. Is it better to handle him little and often or just once a week? Most info I have found seems to condradict each other. I have now put him in my bedroom as he was trying to attack the cats through the glass and I didnt want him getting any more stresed than need be. Any advice greatfully recieved.
Thanx for reading
Tanya xxx

·
Banned
5,772 Posts