Reptile Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, im considering getting another snake, i have 2 corns and a male royal, i was considering a female royal until i found out they were picky eaters, i have seen green tree pythons and i really want one, i know they arn't the tamest and they don't enjoy being taken off their pirch and they have big fangs ( :( )
but really want one, if you don't think this is the best snake for me please suggest one. Btw - i have been keeping snakes for 2 years and i am 14

·
Registered
8,045 Posts
Sorry to thread hike, but are female royasl ,more pickier feeders, i thought males were as of looking for mates in winter etc.
About GTP's they are about £300, but another arboreal snake, have you considered IJCPs?

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ive seen how big carpet pythons can grow, havn't really considered it

·
Registered
8,045 Posts
IJCPs normally get about 4-6 ft, so youd need a 4x2x2ft viv, what are you guidelines, i.e. collubrids or python/boa size etc.

·
Registered
5,898 Posts
id say go for a carpet they are great easy to care for are very pretty snakes tend to perch alot being semi arboreal and all and ideal training for a gtp

i had a carpet but sadly she died but she was a great snake for the short time i had her and would deffinately suggest them to any1

·
Registered
7,147 Posts
Female Royals are no more fussy than males, i dunno who told you that!

I don't think a GTP is a good move for you right now, as they are a lot more difficult to keep than Corns and Royals, Go for an Irian Jaya Carpet Python, much easier to keep and a manageable size.

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
id say go for a carpet they are great easy to care for are very pretty snakes tend to perch alot being semi arboreal and all and ideal training for a gtp