Reptile Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello :)

I'm a newbie and this is my first post here, so please remove or move if not appropriate/ in the wrong place.
We have a corn snake, she's gorgeous, and has a good setup incl. several hides, two baths, artificial plants and vines to climb on etc. We bought a cage for the heat source to make sure she is safe of burns.

So .. I noticed recently that she likes to climb up one of the plants and then chill up there, half in the plant and half on the cable of the UV light. She doesn't seem to move toward the UV, but I'm a bit worried because the UV is quite hot as well.

So, I considered getting a cage for the UV. Problem is that the cage takes away 15% of the light. Would you do this? I'm thinking safety first, but it's our first snake, so we're a bit insecure.

Advice is appreciated, thank you very much :)

Sarah

P.S.: This is Cassie :). She's scaleless.

Registered
Welcome 馃榿

I would recommend a guard and quickly. I do not own a corn snake (I have other snakes) but I've seen a fair amount of pics with snakes burnt from lights.

I believe corn snakes don't require UV (although is better for them to have it)... Might be best to turn it off until you do get a guard, esp as your snake likes to climb.

I would rather a healthy snake than a burnt snake.

Your snake looks to be enjoying itself 馃榿

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi M1chelle,

Thanks a lot, I was thinking the same and ordered one that will be here tomorrow.

Oh, she's the cutest. Whenever you look for her, her little head pokes out somewhere 馃槏

Sarah

Registered