Reptile Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I am after some advice as I am new to this, I recently aquire three leopard geckos and set up from someone who no longer wanted them, they are on a bark substrate but I am unsure whether to keep them on this, also the viv is 3ft long is thsi big enough for them, I have had them since the weekend and they are all eating well and are very friendly. Any advice would be great

·
Premium Member
15,027 Posts
3ft viv for leo's is plenty.. as they have already been living together I assume they are all female or there is only one male. If there is a male you will get eggs (something to bare in mind).

As for the bark substrate, many people here won't like that to much as there is always the risk that they eat the bark. This will get struck in the digestive system and cause the leo to die. I'd move them onto a non-lose substrate when you get the chance. Something like reptile carpet or slate are excellant.

Leo's are one of the easiest lizards to look after so have a read of a few care sheets of google and I'm sure you'll do just fine :wink:

·
Registered
13,813 Posts
hello mate.
Good luck with the leo's, we just got one ourselves and have him on kitchen towel just while he settles, i think bark chips are generally fine but there is a risk with all loose substrates as mentioned above.

You should stick around and post etc mate, you can and prolly will learn a lot about a lot of different species here.
Feel free to also post a picture of your trio and thier viv in the lizard pic section, yourll prolly get a lot of "ahhs" and "awws" and the odd "why do you have that like that?" kinda comment BUT its all in the interest of learning and sharing info.

Take care, see u around.

Dean

·
Banned
5,772 Posts
should she not get eggs anyway if they are female? thought that all eggbearing females laid eggs regardless of if there is a male. is this wrong?

·
Registered
21,871 Posts