Reptile Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3,999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hiya,
I'm totally new to inverts, and im thinking of getting a tarantula, maybe a Brazilian Black or Mexican Redknee.
Can anyone give me any advice, point me to books/care sheets please :)
Also I'm not sure about what age tarantula would be best to get?

·
Registered
1,359 Posts
Click here...

There's endless possibilities for your first spider. I started with 4 G. pulchripes (chaco golden knee) slings about 8 months ago and have quickly built up a nice little collection of T's.

Most people say to stay away from old world T's (africa, asia, india) for your first choice. Anything from the genus Grammostola and Brachypelma are good choices. Avicularia are a little bit faster and arboreal, but these are also a good choice. There is another genus that's trying to escape my head onto the keyboard but Im blank at the moment.

Basically, as long as you do enough research and treat the spider with respect, theres not too much that isn't suitable as a first spider.

Hope this helps a little bit. : victory:

·
Registered
1,540 Posts
I would echo the above, make sure you know what to expect and have read plenty about there care and characteristics and you should be fine with most things, my second tarantula was a P. regalis, the first being a sling a few weeks before that, but i had read all the books i could get hold of and spent hours online looking at forums for gems of information.

The two you mentioned are good choices, bit more expensive them most, but beautiful spiders, especially the brazilian black, they are stunning things, but hard to get at a good size

The tarantula keepers guide is a good book. good luck

·
Registered
749 Posts
I agree with the previous posters :)