Reptile Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there i wondered if some of you could give me some of your advice. This is my first reptile (leopard gecko) so i am a total novice when it comes to reptiles. I've had my leo just over a month now and he's grown a considerable amount in this time. I have not handled him since I got him and now i was wondering if now could be the time to handle him? If so, how. I'v tried to pet him a little so he would get used to me this is either rewarded by him running off and hiding and coming back out a minute or two later or him assuming i'm food.
I went in today and took the lid off his humid hide so i could spray some water in it, this was a bit hit and miss as each time i went to try and take the lid off his hide he was getting ready to try and eat me. In the end i had to try and distract him with something, getting the lid back on was another story as he tried to do the same thing AGAIN! He's already gone for me twice before, i think this has probably made me scared of him. I dont want to distress him or hurt him in anyway.
Could my leo have a bad temper or just be confused?
Please help!

·
Registered
2,082 Posts
in my opinion if you have had him a month and havent handled him at all then it is a case of him not being tamed by the owner, you gotta teach him that you are a friend and this is done by handling. What i would do is make sure im in contact with him at least twice a day and so he gets used to me, using treats if he is sitting in your hand is a good idea also, i used this when taming my beardie because he would puff up when i looked at him. So get handling!!

·
Registered
2,013 Posts