Reptile Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a milksnake (dylan) who hasn't eaten for awhile now about 6 weeks, prior to this he ate a small rat every week i have recently tried splitting the head of the pray andhe definately smelled the pray though he still didn't eat, heusually stays in the cold side of the viv but recently he's stayed mainly in the hot side,and today i noticed himyawn which ihave readis a sign that he could have resiratory problems, i live in northwood hills near watford and any advice onwhat may be wrong or where the nearest vet with good reptile expierience may be would be hugely apreciated, asi say i am a newbie i was given the snake by my mums old boss who no longer had room for him.

·
Registered
5,284 Posts
Firstly, What Age and size is he/her?

Was he/she being fed on Small rats prior to you having him/her? If so, I would consider feeding 2 Smaller items of food, I.e. Mice rather then one big Item. Milksnakes in general much prefer more of little then less of big.

How long have you had him/her? What sort of Set-up is he in? Temperatures? Humidity? Source of Heat? Rub? Glass Viv? Wooden Viv?

Shoot some details of the snake up along with what it's being housed in, your routines and what not and we will most defernetly help you out, but without the details, we're a bit in the dark!

Feel free to PM if needs be.

Scott

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
i got him when he was about 2 years old, and i've had him since november. he's about 3 feet long maybe a little over and about 2 and a half inches wide at his widest. he was being fed on small rats by the previos owner.

he's in a wooden viv L 122 x D 37.5 x H 40.5 cm with a hide on either side and some plastic foliage and quite a deep water bowl and i use aspen beding.

his heat source is entierly from 1 quite large heat mat which covers just over a third of the floor space and the hot side stays at 28 - 30 celsious