Reptile Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m completely new to pet birds. I know that I would like a couple of budgies as companion house pets because they’re so small and don’t require 10+ hours out of the cage, although I appreciate that as much time as is possible is certainly beneficial. What I would like more than anything, though is a large pet bird! Me dream is to be able to take one of my pets outside for a longer duration of time. I would let it out of the cage all of the time that I was home, buy either a flight suit or a harness and spend months training for free flight if necessary, although I understand the risks. Birds such as cockoteil and Senegal’s just don’t seem to be the right fit for me. I would absolutely love to have an African Grey or Cockotoo, although as far as is my understanding they aren’t very beginner friendly most of the time. My question is, are there any similarly sized birds that are better for beginners? I can provide around 5 x 3 1/2 feet of space for a cage with essentially any height. Willing to work hard for a bond but don’t want to become out of my depth.

·
Registered
13,111 Posts
All I know is that SparrowHawks are vicious and as such are rubbish pets :)

Sorry .. can't really help , just thought I'd bump the thread until someone comes along .

I rescued a SparrowHawk a few years ago and the Hawk society told me to put a thawed day old chick in with it each day until the guy could collect a few days later .

He didn't mention that they were vicious and move faster than Cyril Smith at a free buffet '

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

·
Registered
11,680 Posts