Reptile Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this form and this my first post, but nevermind that.

I am thinking of buying a Russian tortoise but I cannot seem to find all the information online so maybe you guys can help me out.

I am going to get a rodent cage (guinea pig/rabbit cage) for my tortoise and for the lighting and heating i am going to get a heat glo for night and during the day a sun glo basking lamp. To stop the top of the cage from melting the ceramic lamp holders I am trying to find should be tall enough not to melt the plastic on top of the cage. The sun glo during the day says it contains UVB but does it contain enough UVB. Aswell do I need to use thermostats on the overhead lamps?

With that set-up in mind I am wondering about the food. I am going to feed it every evening and every other feed lightly dust with D3 Calcium. I am going to feed it cabbage and spinach. Should I use Calcium with D3 or no D3 or alternate between both?

And lastly the substrate I am going to use a 60 to 40 percent of play sand and eco earth and slightly soften it with water. I am going to spot clean and change water but switch the substrate once a month.

Thanks ~Mini Kenchy~

·
Registered
8,111 Posts
Far better to get a rabbit cage with a metal top:0) You can sometimes get these free on your local "Freecycle" "Freegle" sites. With a metal top you dont have to worry about it melting.
Your tortoises shouldnt need heat at night, especially horsfields, as they tollerate lower temperatures quite easily compared to meds. My iberas (meds) dont have any extra heating at night, apart from the heat of the house (no central heating on).

You should rethink their diet, anything from the cabbage family will inhibit their absorbtion of calcium to their bones and muscles. Their diet should be weeds and flowers. See www.thetortoisehouse.com

Other than that it seems fine:0)

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·