Reptile Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

This is my first post on here, but I've been lurking in the shadows for a couple of months now.

Got my first reptile, a little BD (who still doesn't have a name..) about a month ago now. When I bought her, the shop thought (s?)he was female, but now I'm having my doubts - friend had a look and thinks she might be a little boy! Also, she's getting more black colouration on her beard since she shed about a week ago - am I right in thinking that this is an indication of a male? Everything that I've read in books is quite confusing, and I don't really know what I'm looking for with the bumps on the legs etc... any tips for determining whether I have a girl or boy?

BD is approx. 4 months old now - is this too young to tell for certain?

Thanks in advance,
Becky

·
Registered
1,624 Posts
Im no expert either but hav two BD (baby's)of a similar age. The colouration can be mis-leading as also a way of expression. I have check my larger BD (baby)today and althogh showing some clasic signs of male behaviour when, I have checked her (i think) femoral pores and there is only one central buldge. On a male you would expext to find two two buldges at the base of tail with an hour glass indent in between. A good tip is not to turn your bd (with no name) on his /her back. lie in palm of hand and gently raise tail (not too far as can cause damage)

hope this helps

·
Registered
83 Posts
sexing your beardie