Reptile Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
675 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I have been asked (by the nursery my son goes to) if I wouldn't mind bringing in some of our reptiles to show the children. (Royal python, crested gecko & maybe a Kingsnake)

Naturally I am happy to do so, however I'm unsure whether I'd need a licence, insurance or both.

I am a hobbyist, not a business. I wouldn't be making any money, just giving the young kids a chance to see reptiles and hopefully educate them a little.

I've tried researching, but Google has confused me (I'm not great with technology).

Any guidance & help would be really appreciated.

·
Registered
1,485 Posts
Don't quote me on this; but I believe as long as it is not deemed a business venture and you are not being paid for it then there is no license or insurance required.

If you were being paid then this is deemed as a business and as such requires an AAL (Animal Activities License)

·
Registered
675 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. I am definitely not being paid, it's just a chance to educate kids that reptiles aren't as scary as they may seem.

I just don't want to go in and their be issues when I can avoid them.

I will wait to hear from others, hopefully 🤞

·
Registered
10,010 Posts