Reptile Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, i've had a bull snake for about 2 months now and the store I got it from never actually told me his age, but its about 2 feet maybe and maybe a year or 2 old not completely sure. But anyways, they let me handle him at the store and it was the calmest snake i've ever handled, just slithered around. But now whenever I put my hand in the cage, it raises its head looking ready to strike and is completely scared of me at times, i'll touch around to let it know im there, and it'll completely freak and come and try to attack me it looks like, not actually try and smell. He just had a successful shed, and is fed well, am I doing something wrong, I haven't been able to handle it since I got it from the store, I understand letting it adjust for a few weeks, I don't necessarily need to handle it, but I'd rather it not let sit in its cage forever.
I understand all snakes are different, i'm new to owning an actual snake and need any tips for handling, or why it acts this way.
Thanks in advance:flrt:

·
Registered
12,928 Posts
I've never had any Bull snakes but I had a young Pine snake which are kinda related I believe ?!?

Mine was lovely and docile OUT of his viv but very food orientated whilst inside. You mention he's well fed but mine had a monstrous appetite and they do grow to a very good size as I recall . Not monster size but sizeable .

I'm wondering if it's a partly that he needs a bit more food each time ... and maybe try hooking him out or at least direct his head away from you / your hand whilst you get hold him . Once he's out I think he'll be fine .

I'll be interested to see what the others think ..

As I say , I was a bit nervous of mine as he seemed so intent on coming towards me all the time but using a hook to direct his head away soon sorted him out :)

·
Banned
13 Posts
viv is snakes domains for some of them they defend