·
Registered
1,796 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok im new to snakes

i no of them i no a few species of snakes

what i want to no

what is best for a learner?

also how big it would grow and what viv it needed?

i dont want anyhting that grows over 6 ish foot!

·
Registered
22,890 Posts
What sort of body shape are you happy with? You have, with your requests, a fair few choices - but if we know what sort of snake you'd like we can make better suggestions.

If you're interested in slender, active snakes, try a corn or one of the european/asian rat snake species like the Russian Rats.

If you're interested in a heavy-bodied, slow snake, you're pretty much limited to royal pythons (and I don't personally think they're ideal for someone who's never had a reptile, though I can see you've got a couple and you're probably better equipped to deal with 'arrgh, won't eat!' than a complete reptile newbie).

If you want something heavy-bodied but able to be quick, maybe a Colombian Rainbow Boa or one of the dwarf boas would be good?

It also depends on how much money you want to spend, of course :)

·
Registered
6,778 Posts
i would say go for a royal a nice length nice body shape/weight! aslong as you get a cb with decent feeding records and read up or find out here about temps etc then go for it!!

·
Registered
1,772 Posts
i would say go for a royal a nice length nice body shape/weight! aslong as you get a cb with decent feeding records and read up or find out here about temps etc then go for it!!
Would completely agree with this: victory:. I also think that the problem with royals being feeders is greatly exaggerated-as long as you get one with decent feeding records then you should be fine...
Hope this helps!
Ben

·
Registered
265 Posts