Reptile Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
assuming i do get a corn. what wat bulb do u reccomend and should i leave it on at night? or just the heat pad?
thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
62,208 Posts
you dont need a bulb, as in its not a nesessity (how do you spell that? lol).
heat mat of a thermostat will be enough in most cases.

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
will the heat mat giv enough heat?...sory im a snake noob :( i just dont wanna spend lots of money and have it not get enough heat and keel over

·
Registered
5,284 Posts
Corn dont need light, Its optional. My Milksnake (Similair to a corn in husbandry) I have a Heatmat connected to a thermostat and i also have repti glo 2.0. Corns dont need UV light, But it was my option. It lightens up the vivarium for you to see, it can also help the snake have a body clock of roughly what hours it is in the day. But naturel sunlight from the room is enough. It's just my oponion in having it.

Good Luck With Your Corn.

·
Registered
9,611 Posts
Yeah a heatmat would be fine and will keep them warm enough... and to add to meltos.. if you have an albino snake do not give it UV as it can cause problems for them.

·
Registered
1,090 Posts
A heatmat alone will be fine at night. As they don't heat the air much the snake will still have the option of a cool area with normal night temperatures or a warm spot, which it'll probably make use of at night when it's just fed.
The heat mat must be on a stat though - otherwise it'll be too hot and the snake will, at best, avoid it or at worst, get burnt.

The wattage of the bulb for daytime temps depends on the size of the viv. For example, in a 36x18x18 you'd need either a 60w or 100w depending on how warm your house is.

I wouldn't bother with UV for a corn, or any snake TBH. Corns are crepuscular (mainly active at dawn and dusk) so they'd most likely avoid any bright light and so wouldn't benefit in any way.

·