Reptile Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey someone I know keeps calling their tarantula a goliath, tried to explain that loads of people call loads of tarantulas golaith and it means nothing, I think its a vagans but im not that good at it anymore haha, out of practice, any help would be good.

Attachments

·
Registered
11,665 Posts
I'm unsure what the species is but it's not a "Goliath".

The 3 Theraphosa sp (stirmi, blondi and apophysis) are commonly called goliath.

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm unsure what the species is but it's not a "Goliath".

The 3 Theraphosa sp (stirmi, blondi and apophysis) are commonly called goliath.
Yeah thats what I said but she's "I'm sure its a golaith" sent a photo of my blondi and said thats a goliath, she wants to sell but I said I can't help till I know what it is.

·
Registered
11,665 Posts
Yeah thats what I said but she's "I'm sure its a golaith" sent a photo of my blondi and said thats a goliath, she wants to sell but I said I can't help till I know what it is.
You're probably right with Tlitocatl vagans although it would be good to get a positive ID.

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
You're probably right with Tlitocatl vagans although it would be good to get a positive ID.
Yeah for sure, thanks for the input anyway.

·
Registered
1,023 Posts
Doesn't look like a vagans to me, and definitely not a Theraphosa, either. Lasiodora klugi, maybe? That's about the biggest spider you'll find outside of Theraphosa, anyway.

·
Registered
11,665 Posts
Doesn't look like a vagans to me, and definitely not a Theraphosa, either. Lasiodora klugi, maybe? That's about the biggest spider you'll find outside of Theraphosa, anyway.
That's a good call too.

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Ahh you might be right, she said it was too big to not be a goliath, before she sent the photo I suspected she might have an lp but obviously not.

·
Registered
216 Posts