Reptile Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have been keeping tropical fish for about 4-5 years now but still manage to find things that confuse me.

when i bought some platy in the week i noticed a sign saying 'we recommend using tonic salt with all livebearing species' which i was also told by the assistant. ive kept live bearers in the past and have neva used any salt what so ever.

if im wrong please feel free to correct me: i thought that salt was only really used with livebearers to aid in reproduction as brackish water encourages breeding

what would the tonic salt be used for?
is it harmful to other fresh water species?
is it beneficial to the chemistry of the water?

·
Registered
11,327 Posts
Tonic salt can also be used to keep background levels of bacteria/fungi at a lower level, as well as actually treating some fungi and diseases. It's also used to reactivate zeolite or sterilise equipment.

Not sure if it's truly safe long term for a freshwater species. I have used it for a turtle with a healing wound, but that's it :)

I don't think it's harmful, but I'd imagine you'd have to be careful with the dilution you use. My turtle is a freshwater turtle, but tonic salts are often recommended to aid healing wounds, and many people use them all the time, to create slightly brackish water, as it helps prevent bacteria/fungi related problems.

·
Registered
25,628 Posts
If I remember correctly, it used to be used as a preventative measure against disease, to be used "just in case" but it isn't really neaccasary at all, and can cause harm to freshwater fish that are saline sensitive, if used incorrectly

·
Registered
1,237 Posts