Reptile Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I am new to tortoise keeping. I have two delightful Hermann hatchlings, one came from a private home and the other from a pet shop. The one from the private home seems very contented and is eating very well. The other one seems to be unhappy in his surroundings. They are in a 3ft vivarium with repti turf as a substrate. They are kept at 30-31 degrees in the day and 20 at night regulated by a thermostat. They have a variety of mediums in the vivarium for exercise and interest and they are bathed daily and have quite a variety of food during the day. The second tortoise is constantly standing up on it's back legs trying - it seems - to scrape his way out - he has three times fallen over onto his back which is very scary! Why does he do this? What is he unhappy about? Also how long can a tortoise remain on its back before it dies? I don't know if I am being paranoid. They are both putting on weight. I have had the first one for 3 weeks and the second one for 2. I hope someone can help me please. Thanks.:cry:

·
Banned
3,993 Posts
*Hi I am new to tortoise keeping. I have two *delightful Hermann hatchlings, one came from a *private home and the other from a pet shop.

Firstly they should be kept seperate. If therre is anythign wrong with the pet shop one it will infect the other

*one from the private home seems very contented *and is eating very well.

This is probably becasue he already knows this environment

*The other one seems to be unhappy in his *surroundings.

This is because he is propbably wild caught and is depressed at having to live in something suited to fish. See here Tortoise Trust Web - Indoor Housing & Vivarium Design

*They are in a 3ft vivarium with repti turf as a *substrate.

Get them out of the tank it will slowly kill them through dehydration and kidney failure

*They are kept at 30-31 degrees in the day and 20 *at night regulated by a thermostat.