Reptile Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This morning I found some dead mites in two of my boas water bowls. There were about 20 dead mites in total. This is my first time with mites and I want to make sure I'm dealing with it properly.

What I've done so far:
Checked all 4 snakes, including chin flaps, belly scales, heat pits and cloacae. The only thing I found was a bump on the face under the eye of one of the boas, that I expect is a mite under the scales. None of the snakes seem to be showing any signs of stress and were all well behaved when I checked them.

I've removed all the substrate and decor from all 4 vivariums. I've only found mites in 2 of them, but all 4 vivariums are in the same room, so I'm going to assume they're all infested and treat them all at once. I binned the substrate, and all the decor is in a bin bag waiting to be sorted.

I left them with just their water bowls, they all have enough water to completely submerge.

I went to the pet shop, they had Zoo Med Mite Off, and Four Paws Nature's Reptile Protector. I had a good laugh at the ingredients on the Mite Off (carrot? orange pulp? onion powder? active ingredient: detergent? seriously WTF is any of that supposed to do to kill mites?), then bought a bottle of Protector (which claims to be used by herpetologists for the elimination of mites and recommended by veterinarians).

What I'm going to do:
I'm going to order a bottle of Callington's from the web, in case this treatment doesn't work, and so I have some ready if I get mites again in the future.

This evening I'm going to scrub and disinfect all the vivariums, making sure all debris is cleared from them. Then I'm going to treat the snakes and the vivariums as per the instructions on the bottle.