Reptile Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it normal for a royal's skin to go a slightly orangy brown andpinkish down by the tail colour underneath when it is due to shed as my royal's skin is starting to feel a bit flakey and on his underbelly it has gone the above mentioned colour???

He seems content and alert enough with plenty of tongue flicking and very explorative so I don't think it is anything to worry about but thought I better make sure

[/url]

·
Banned
1,156 Posts
dont want 2 scare you but this sounds like what my royal had please get it checked as i thought he was just shedding and left it (BIG MISTAKE) hissyended up with a really nasty infection due 2 mites and being a bad shed ended up on 9 days worth of injections and bathed twice daily so please take him/her to a vets and get it checked hopefully it will be nothing and as im not an expert im not sure i can really advise only it rung a few alarm bells due to the experiance i had

·
Registered
6,716 Posts
You say it is going flaky, has it shed or is it going to shed ?
As my blonde pastel (Royal Python) had thus after shed so kept an eye on it and it turned into scale rot, it looked like the pic you just showed, get it to a vet asap if i were you, mine is on 3 weeks worth of injections, and being bather 2 times a day and cream applied to the sore area. If you need a speaclist, i can reccomend a good one :D
PM me if need be.

·
Registered
399 Posts
I would get it to a vet ASAP, i dealt with one who had burns on his belly and at least two old skins on him but the owner never noticed ?!! It started off the same as yours.We got cream and antibiotics for him and he fine now,got a nice home.

·
Registered
4,200 Posts