Reptile Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am new to the fabulous world of reptiles and wonder whether anybody had any recommendations on what would be a good starter lizard and where I could find out any further information. I am quite taken with blue tongued skinks, would these be a good starting point? Does it make a difference whether you have a male or a female from a temperament point of view?

Any help or ideas you have would be greatly appreciated. :D

Ta!
x

·
Registered
1,356 Posts
the best starter lizards to get for a beginner overall, are bearded dragons or leopard geckos, they are both very naturally tame, yet different in many ways, (bearded dragons require more money to set up and get a lot bigger than geckos)

·
Registered
105 Posts
as said above, the beardie is great. ive got a male and i can sling him on my sholder and walk around. they have great temperment. the geckos are maybe too fast for beginners. A blue tounged skink might be more hassle than a beardie.
Good luck, Joe

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Many thanks, I had not considered a Beardie.. why would the set up for a beardie cost more money than for geckos, is it because they would need a bigger enclosure?

Why would a skink be more hassle?

Ooohh, I can see that I am going to be quite annoying - too many questions!!! :D

·
Registered
1,169 Posts
my first lizard was a beardie, and have to admit they cost a tad more than i initially thought as when i was told they are eating machines i didnt think it was literally but if your prepared to fork out £20 or so a month for crickets for them then they are very rewarding and give alot back.

the best way i can describe them is they are like small dogs :lol: and have alot of character!

·
Registered
13,846 Posts