Reptile Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to corn keeping, although I have been researching and learning about them for the last three months - I purchased Kathy Loves excellent new book and have been lurking on a variety of snake forums.

I used to keep some garter snakes and slow worms when I was a boy but that was over 20 years ago (I am now 33). Recently my son (aged 6) had the pleasure of handling some corns snakes and royal pythons and he was fascinated, so to my surprise my wife suggested that we could get a corn snake.

We have purchased all of the equipment (heatmat, matstat, digital probe thermometer) and clear plastic locking lid tubs (really useful boxes sizes 3L, 9L and 18L) until the corn is big enough for a wooden vivarium.

I have been trying to decide between getting a hatchling, so that we can watch him/her grow and develop and get used to us from the start, or getting a grown on sub-adult, who hopefully can be handled slightly more than a hatchling and who will be a bit calmer and less jumpy than a hatchling.

I now have the offer of a hatchling, a 1 year old corn, or a 2 year old corn.

However I now have a dilema that I do not know which one to get? Anyone give me some useful advice?

·
Registered
18,536 Posts
Hi mate, I find that adult corns are a lot easier to handle than hatchings or yearlings. As you mentioned, they tend to move fast and shoot off specially when young.

I keep boids as well, and I find them a lot easier to handle than corns or other similar snakes, and the reason being is that boids tend to be more stationary and prefer to coil up wherevr they can get a good grip, while corns like to shoot off and go forward most og f the time.