Reptile Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I'm new to the reptile Scene, purchased to yellow bellies for my 18th Bday. I assume only young, no more than 2.5 inches long at the mo. Was wandering if anyone had any tips for keeping these gorgous things. MY only major worry is feeding, I was told feed them once every two days for 45mins as much as they can eat. Then another source told me twice daily sparingly. Anyone can help me with this please PM me. Thx

* Also interested to know if anyone here who has an idea of turtles lives within the Sutton/Birmingham Region. Like i said, was given as present, and i'm not V clued up about this. Although i used to help my cousin keep 9 bearded dragons and an Eguana when i was younger. *

·
Registered
1,360 Posts
I kept a few YB Sliders a few years back. I had to downgrade, so i got rid of them (actually 1 died of an infection that wasn't caught in time only a week after I bought him home).

The tops tips I can advise towards is:

1. Keep the water warm and moving. Not hot and don't lt it go stagnant.
2. Make sure that they have a good spot that is dry.

If they dont have these, then your YBS will not be happy. In regards to #2, if they stay wet all the time, they may get some kind of skin rot. This is not cool and could possibly lead to shell rot.

In regards to feeding, I usually left them for an hour with the pellets before I fished the stuff out. I also fed daily... worked for me.

For a while anyway...

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·