Reptile Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was needing some info because im a beginner with my bearded dragon, his name is Uber:) I bought the NEW - Zoo Med Tropical UVB and Heat Lighting Kit, it has two bulbs in one lamp, the right side has the blue daylight bulb and the other bulb on the right is the uvb heating light, I have them both on most of the 10 to 12 hours in the day, occasionally keep just daylight bulb because im scared its too much heat, are you suppose to or able to keep them both on at the same time, or are each bulb suppose to be on at separate times since they have a switch for each bulb separately, if anyone knows the answer to this I would much appreciate it if someone could fill me in, I really don't want to lose my Uber because I was too scared to ask for help. Thank you!!!

·
Registered
22,086 Posts
I'm pretty sure what you have is totally unsuitable for a bearded dragon!

Is it this:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Tropical-Uvb-amp-Heat-Lighting-x/dp/B00CYDE8IG

The UVB is only 5% and a rubbish compact bulb. Ideally you want at least a 12% strip that runs 3/4 the length of the vivarium. Arcadia actually now do a 14% strip that is perfect for bearded dragons. You also need a reflector with it.

The basking area should be providing heat for at least 12 hours a day and should only be switched off at night . You are aiming for a surface temp in the basking area of 45c and you need to use a daylight basking bulb which should be controlled by a dimmer thermostat to stop temps getting too high or too low.

Can you give us some more info about your enclosure. Possibly some photos if you could and more info about your bearded dragon.

·
Registered
2,961 Posts
Louise is right, the light setup you have is completely underpowered for a bearded dragon.

They are not tropical animals, they are desert ones, you require a MUCH higher UV output.